Days 28-31. Are you SURE that can’t be done? It’s the future!

Writing my story, which takes place around 100 years into our future, has made me realize how convenient futuristic stories can be. Consequently, it also encourages me to be a lazy writer.

Can’t figure out how to get your protagonist to the top of a building that’s infested with zombies?

Have no fear! It’s the future! Your protagonist has a handy wrist band that allows them to propel themselves onto the building and into the safety of the waiting helicopter!

Convenience!

I just want to add that my story does NOT contain zombies. That was an example. I watched a zombie movie the other day so they’ve sort of been gnawing at the back of my mind. Get it? Get it?

Anyway…

It seems the lazy writer in me has figured out this new little trick. When I am stuck on a scene and unsure of the exact details of how I want something work out, it invents a futuristic device/law/setting that fits all my needs. It’s actually quite impressive.

The problem is the more methodical side of me feels there should be a reason behind the device/law/setting. What caused the need for this? How was it achieved? How can I explain it in a believable way?

To which the lazy side of me responds “Hey, shut it! I solved all your problems.”

It is very tempting to give in to my lazy side. Why not shed all of my inhibitions and create the most mind boggling future ever? That could be a lot of fun.

It would completely undermine the point of my story, but it would be fun.

Why pin point the exact timeline of the changes made to society when I can just make it up as I go? Who needs explanations for every little difference? Why not give everyone a device so they can read everyone else’s minds, and they talk it out in their heads and all conflict is avoided?

It’s very easy to get carried away when the lazy side is in charge.

I’m curious to know if anyone else has any experience with futuristic stories. Did you feel it was a tough line to walk? How did you decide just how far advanced your world would be?

Days 28-31 are down. One month is completely gone! I’m not freaking out, I swear….

6 thoughts on “Days 28-31. Are you SURE that can’t be done? It’s the future!

  1. I think, as you probably already know, that if you invent something it should be explained to a point. We (the readers) need to be able to imagine it all in our heads, but we need to be able to do that without every detail being handed to us.

    • You’re completely right. That’s the line I have to walk. And if I invent something, it has to make sense. It can’t be so unbelievable that it alienates the reader.

      My work is clearly cut out for me.

  2. Though your work may be cut out for you, You should be fine though, because at least you are thoughtful in acknowledging a need to be fair to your readers, and where there’s a will, there’s a way they say.

    Great sense of humor @> “I watched a zombie movie the other day so they’ve sort of been gnawing at the back of my mind. Get it? Get it?”

  3. I have to agree with Farrah on this one. I know that I run into the same issue writing fantasy with the concept of ‘magic’ at times. For example, how do I get the character from one side of the world to the other without traveling 800 miles? Oh, just poof! What do you mean I have to explain how it works?! I said, “Poof!”

    I know that I have to watch my lazy writer, and try not to jump over significant points of interest. I like to think of readers of sci fi and fantasy as myself – a geek/nerd. They like to be thrown into a new world that challenges their belief system and their view on the meaning of life, but the world has to be make sense (despite the little intricate oddities that define the world) in order for them to feel the challenge. A logical explanation of how the world works helps the reader relate to the characters in the story and feel the emotional connection that we all seek when reading a book.

  4. Pingback: Some Favorite Blog Posts | Robertson Writes

Leave a Reply

