Days 16-18. My imagination has ADHD.

Just a few days ago I had the worst writers block. I spent hours in front of my laptop trying to will the words to form. Every single sentence felt like I was wading through sludge, up a hill, in the rain, and with only one leg.

I actually became desperate enough to entertain the idea of a “writers block exorcism”. There just has to be some holy writer who can sprinkle water on my laptop and shout “BEGONE WRITERS BLOCK! LEAVE, YOU EVIL DEMON!”

Right?

Thankfully, it hasn’t come to that just yet. Though I am still keeping a lookout for this elusive holy writer. You know, just in case.

It seems my imagination finally decided to get off its lazy bum and spin me some ideas. It just wasn’t in the way I had hoped.

My imagination threw up its hands and declared “To hell with book one! Let’s move on to the sequel!” Yesterday, all I could think about was the sequel. Idea after idea just came pouring into my head. New characters, new scenes, and even some snippets of dialogue. I have 70% of the framework completed for my sequel. (That includes a couple of hastily written scenes I wrote on my work computer and emailed to myself. Shhh!)

Just in case a refresher is needed, I haven’t even finished writing my first book. You know the one that is supposed to come before this sequel. It just happens to be the same one I’m supposed to finish by the end of the year.

Of course, I’m thankful for the ideas. I can’t ignore that it’s probably a good thing to know the basic outline of the sequel. I’m sure it will help me better navigate the first, provide a clearer picture of where everything is headed, and yadda yadda yadda. I just wish my imagination wasn’t’ so scatterbrained. It’s cantering off to the second book when I need it to focus on the first.

Side note: Does anyone else’s imagination remind them of the 11th Doctor in Doctor Who? My imagination makes me think of Matt Smith running frantically all over the Tardis, pressing buttons, and rambling about all the places we can go. Anyone?

At first, I tried to coddle my imagination. What a great idea, sweetie! Look at you go, this will be perfect for the second book! Now, how about we figure out this complex scene? I know you can do it!

Now I’ve moved on to threats. I’m not going to even THINK about writing this sequel unless you get your act together and give me some ideas!

Neither has worked.

For now I am forced to do what my “Doctor” imagination tells me to do. I will hold tight and pretend it’s a plan.

Days 16-18 are down. 166 days to go!

Leave a Reply

